Nominations open for prestigious BSAVA Awards

29 June 2021

Nominations are now open for the 2021 and 2022 BSAVA Awards which celebrate exceptional achievements and excellence within the small animal veterinary profession.

To be eligible for a BSAVA Award individuals must be nominated by a BSAVA member – but nominees do not have to be members themselves. Members can nominate as many people as they like in as many of the categories as they wish.

The Awards categories are:


  • The Woodrow Award, recognising contributions to the advancement of small animal medicine
  • The Bourgelat Award, recognising international contributions to small animal practice
  • The Simon Award, recognising contributions in the field of veterinary surgery


  • The Amoroso Award, recognising contributions to teaching of small animal studies


  • The Blaine Award, recognising contributions to the advancement of small animal science


  • The Bruce Vivash Jones Award, recognising advancement of veterinary nursing
  • The J.A.Wright Memorial Award, recognising contributions to the welfare of companion animals
  • The Ray Butcher Award, recognising contributions to animal welfare in the community

Krista Arnold, Chair of the Awards Committee said: “The BSAVA Awards are an important opportunity to recognise the inspiring work of our peers. The Awards Committee cannot make nominations but relies on the BSAVA membership to put names forward for consideration. Why not take a few minutes to talk to your friends and colleagues and submit your online award nominations now. You can nominate more than one person and for more than one award but you cannot nominate yourself.”

If you know someone incredible who has made a real difference to small animal practice, you can nominate them via the BSAVA website here. Remember, you must be a BSAVA member to nominate.

For information on how to become a BSAVA member visit