Skip navigation and go to main content


Since their creation in 1961, the prestigious BSAVA Awards have recognised outstanding contributions and achievements in small animal veterinary medicine. 

The awards aim to acknowledge unsung heroes within the veterinary profession who have made significant contributions to veterinary science, research, clinical practice, education, and the welfare of small animals.

The awards are celebrated annually at an awards ceremony held at BSAVA Congress.

Unsure which is right for your nomination?

  • If you want to nominate someone for their significant contributions to the advancement of small animal practice or the veterinary profession as a whole. Why not nominate them for the The Bourgelat Award, the highest honour bestowed by the BSAVA.
  • For outstanding contributions in research and clinical practice to small animal veterinary medicine, then recognise these contributions with a nomination for The Blaine Award. 
  • The Woodrow Award recognises contributions to the advancement of small animal medicine.
  • For those wanting to recognise contributions in undergraduate teaching of small animal studies, then The Amoroso Award is for you!
  • To recognise those who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of small animal veterinary nursing, Then celebrate them by nominating them for the Bruce Vivash Jones Veterinary Nurse Award

Who can apply?

Any veterinary professional can nominate someone for a BSAVA Award, and nominees don’t have to be BSAVA members, they just have to be helping to enhance the welfare of small animals.

How do I nominate someone?

Choose which award you feel suits your candidates’ achievements and click through to the page where you will find more information on the award and the nomination form. Explain how your nominee has made a significant contribution in their award category. Give as much detail as possible.

Key Dates

  • 14 July 2023 – nominations for 2024 awards open
  • 22 September 2023 – 2024 award nominations close
  • December 2023 – Award winners announced
  • 22 March 2024 – Awards ceremony held at BSAVA Congress at Manchester Central

What happens next?

Each year, the successful nominees are contacted in late November to early December and are required to provide the BSAVA with a short biography, a current profile photo and other relevant details required for their award.

All finalists are invited to the awards ceremony on the 22 March, which is held at BSAVA Congress in Manchester. Each winner will receive free entry to BSAVA Congress as part of their prize.